The user upload CSV template (available for download from https://district.gotranseo.com/studentupload.xlsx) is how Transeo manages automated and manually user upload. This method is used to preload all 4 user types (students, counselors, administrators, and sponsors) into Transeo.
After you have downloaded the excel template to your computer, you can open it up and begin adding user rows to the sheet. Please note that the top two columns should not be edited under any circumstances, as the system will reject the CSV file if they don’t match exactly. The furthest left hand column should not be edited at all. All data entry should start in cell B3.
Note: If you are using CSV upload to preload the system in conjunction with LDAP or Google authentication, the user’s first and last name will be reset on every login based on the response from the ldap system.
- First Name
- The first name of the user. Will be reset on login if using LDAP or Google Auth.
- Last Name
- The last name of the user. Will be reset on login if using LDAP or Google Auth.
- The user's email address.
- Default Password
- (Optional) The default password for the user to use if your district uses the standalone authentication system. The student will be asked to reset this on their first login.
- (Optional) The student's identifier within your school. Used for associating users in the Transeo system with users in internal school-based systems at your discretion.
- (Optional) The grade of the user
- The role of the user. Defaults to student if left blank
- Counselor Email
- (Optional) The email address of the counselor for the user. If the user is a student and this is not specified the user will be asked to provide this information on first login.
- (Optional) Whether or not the user is active or inactive. Defaults to "active."
Setting a user to “inactive” on the first upload will have no effect, they will still be added to the database. However, marking a user as “inactive” after their first upload will soft delete that user and all of their data. If at any point you need to retrieve that data, you can submit a new user seeding with that user marked “active.” This will restore the user and all of their data.
Note: If you do not include a user in a batch upload that is present in the system, the user will remain active. To mark a user “inactive” you must explicitly mark them “inactive” during a batch upload.